From Manila to Mannheim – Student Exchange at AIM

By Rahul Bhasin

I knew I had to study an MBA in one of Asia’s premier colleges. I chose AIM  for its legacy and the case study method. I love interacting with people of diverse cultures, and I always wondered how it would be to interact and work with people who are very different from me. This is what I got through AIM in the past year when I opted to go to Germany for my International Student Exchange Program (ISEP).

Image

I chose to study my final term of my MBA at the University of Mannheim, Germany. This was truly a gift given to me by AIM. My experiences were shaped both by what I learnt living in Germany and what I learnt from the people that I studied with.

Living and travelling in Europe was a great source of learning. Some unforgettable moments in Europe were visiting the Bavarian style Oktoberfest in Munich, visiting the Eiffel tower in Paris , seeing the Pope in Vatican City, seeing the Mona Lisa at The Louvre museum…. the list goes on,  I had the chance to experience something spectacular, in such a short time. I saw the best aspects of Europe’s history while studying in one of Europe’s best universities.

Life in Germany, Student Exchange Diaries

Traveling and living in Europe was one aspect of my experience. The other part of my learning experience was the interaction with students and professors of the school.

However, the exchange program was more about learning from others. Working with teams who think differently was simulation of what I could face in my career given the global nature of business today. It trained me to be more patient and be more open to ideas. Of course I learnt this at AIM as well, however, being the only Indian in my dorm building, and my class in Germany, was something new. I made very good friends, form Europe to South American to Australia.

You live once, live it the AIM way!  Experience something new, meet somebody new, do something you have never done before, push your limits, put yourself out of your comfort zone. All these make you a better manager and more importantly a better person.

As I look back on the last term, I marvel at how much I have seen and learned. Wonderful friends who live the world over, seeing one of some of the beautiful cities in the world, learning with the best professors and competing with some of the most competitive management students. I would highly recommend the ISEP program. It would open up the mind, and make one more receptive to new ideas. Thank you AIM for giving me this wonderful opportunity. On the to-do list next:  Plan my next trip to Europe, and meet my new friends.

Tags: , , , , , ,

Categories: Manila Diaries

Author:AIM Students' Media Cell

We are the students' media cell for Asian Institute of Management, Manila.

Subscribe to The AIM Chronicle

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a comment